2021 Cottesloe Senior Open to Manjimup’s Evan Sewell

20th July 2021

With: Phil Ryan

Monday 19 July saw a great field of 107 starters contest our 7th annual Cottesloe Senior Open and Evan Sewell of Manjimup was the winner with a 76 gross on a challenging course set up from the black tees. Second was Nigel Barnes (Wanneroo) on 77,  on a count back from Craig Lubich (LKCC).

Once again Des Russell and his team did a great job continuing to present the course in great order despite the ongoing challenging weather.

The event is a state ranking event for our senior players and attracted a good field with 51 players contesting the stroke event. A further 43 players played the B Grade stableford and 13  the C Grade stableford. The full course challenge on the day in good playing conditions was  reflected in nobody beating nett par on the day, stroke or stableford.

The winner Evan Sewell plays on a four handicap and made it back to back country champions in the event with Harvey’s Michael Lucas the winner in 2020. Evan’s birdies on challenging holes  5, 11 and 18 gave his score the boost it needed to win. Evan said he had been keeping an eye on the weather forecast and only entered last Wednesday and went home happy with his run to Perth.

Thank you to Bruce Hay in Golf Operations for a great job on a busy day. Our F&B team looked after the field very well with bacon & egg quiche and coffee before a 9am shotgun  start and a welcoming immediate lunch on completion from the hot buffet.

Thanks also to Match Committee member Richard Ferreira conducting the presentations with aplomb. Congratulations to all the winners, with CGC members getting a fair run in the prizes.

Cottesloe Senior Open winner Evan Sewell Manjimup 76
Runner-up Nigel Barnes Wanneroo 77
Stroke event nett Craig Lubich Karrinyup 72
Runner-up Neil Mckenzie Cottesloe 73
B-Grade Stableford Greg Chessell Cottesloe 36 points
Runner-up Narinder Singh Royal Fremantle 35 points
C-Grade Stableford Don Marquis Cottesloe 35 points
Runner-up Ian Holding Cottesloe 34 points
NTP 2nd Tony Rompotis Cottesloe
NTP 5th Dave Donaldson-Stiff Cottesloe
NTP 11th Charlie Fiorentino Royal Fremantle
NTP 13th Nigel Gilbert Pinjarra

 Leaderboards here:   Stroke       B Grade      C-Grade

Presentation Gallery:

Previous Page